AJ Styles Greatest Championship History (2017-2018)



WWE Greatest Championship History.

Long championship reigns are hard to come by nowadays in WWE, and even those elite few fortunate enough to maintain possession of a prestigious prize may not defend their title as often as fans would like. Carrying the title like a true champ also plays an important role in the success of their run on top.

The WWE Championship, in particular, has gone through almost every top star who has ventured through the company since the creation of the title in 1963. It was commonplace for stars such as Bruno Sammartino, Bob Backlund and Hulk Hogan to hold the gold for years at a time, but that hasn’t been the case in several decades.

In the last 10 years or so, the WWE title has gradually gotten away from what it was originally intended to be: the centerpiece of the company. Thanks to a handful of exceptional WWE Championship reigns, however, the belt has begun to mean something again and return to the heights it was once at.

A long list of esteemed competitors have had the honor of calling themselves the WWE champion at one point or another over the past 55 years, but these recent reigns have stood above the rest for being the best of the best.

AJ STYLES (2017-2018)

Had you told anyone three years ago. That AJ Styles would be in WWE. Let alone leading the charge on SmackDown Live. As its world champion, you would have been labeled a lunatic.

However, here we are nearly three years removed from the WWE. Arrival of The Phenomenal. One and it’s amazing to note that he has been reigning as the WWE champion since November 2017. The only other man to have held the title longer in the last decade is CM Punk.

His first reign as champ saw him contest several Match of the Year candidates. With the likes of Dean Ambrose and John Cena. Although it ended too soon, he was given another chance to shine as SmackDown’s crown jewel when he knocked off Jinder Mahal for the belt late last year.

Since then, Styles has defended against all comers, including Mahal, Kevin Owens, Sami Zayn, Baron Corbin, Dolph Ziggler, Shinsuke Nakamura, Rusev and Samoa Joe. Most of those matches ranked well above average and were among the best bouts of the night each time.

The only real knock against Styles’ second stint with the title is that he hasn’t headlined any WWE pay-per-views since Fastlane in March 2018. He has constantly been relegated to the undercard in favor of Roman Reigns and the rest of Raw’s main event players.

Nevertheless, Styles contributions to the blue brand as champion can not be stressed enough, as he has helped elevate both the belt and the show itself during his time on top. He is already 10 months into his WWE Championship reign and has shown no signs of slowing down any time soon.FOR MORE NEWS GO www.digitaltrendsnews.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here